Warranty coverage by brand

What Your Safe Warranty Actually Covers

“Lifetime” almost never describes the whole safe. Here is what each brand we carry actually puts in writing, and where to read it yourself.

Calling costs you nothing. Have your serial number and receipt handy if you have them.

Start here

What “lifetime” covers, and what it leaves out

On most brands, lifetime covers the steel body and the door and stops there. The lock runs on its own shorter clock. Nothing stored inside is covered by any warranty on this page.

We carry five brands, and their warranties are not interchangeable. Every term below comes from the manufacturer's own published document, and every one of those documents is linked.

Four questions

Four questions decide what a warranty is worth

Every safe warranty answers the same four questions. Marketing copy blends them together, which is why two safes that both say “lifetime” can be worth very different things when you actually file a claim.

1

What is covered

Which parts of the safe, and which kinds of damage. The body, the lock, the electronics and the finish are almost always covered on different terms.

2

For how long

Lifetime, a fixed number of years, or a single year. The body and the lock rarely share a term.

3

For whom

The original buyer only, or the next owner too. Of the five brands here, only one transfers.

4

At whose cost

Who pays to move a safe that weighs 700 pounds. This is the least advertised term and the one that varies most.

A fifth question matters just as much. Who do you call first. Four of these brands publish a warranty document and run their own claims. One publishes nothing at all, and that claim starts with us.

Universal exclusions

What no safe warranty covers

Three exclusions hold across every brand on this page, and across the industry generally.

The contents

No safe warranty covers what is inside the safe. Firearms, jewelry, documents and cash are the job of your insurance policy, not the safe manufacturer. This is the single most common misunderstanding in the category.

Misuse and neglect

Damage from improper installation, modification without consent, abuse, or failure to maintain the safe falls outside every warranty here.

Consequential loss

No manufacturer accepts liability for loss of use, inconvenience, or the value of contents damaged or lost. Liability stops at repair or replacement of the safe, and is often capped at what you paid for it.

Compare

How the five brands compare

Each answer below comes from the manufacturer's own published warranty terms. Where you see not published, it means no manufacturer document states that term. That is a statement about the paperwork, not a denial of coverage.

  • ●Documented. The manufacturer's document states this term plainly
  • ◐Documented, conditional. Stated, but it depends on model, tier or product group
  • ○Not covered. The document rules this out
  • □Not published. No manufacturer document states it. Not a denial of coverage
Warranty coverage terms compared across Liberty Safe, American Security, ISM, Rhino Metals and FireKing
Coverage question Liberty Safe American Security ISM Rhino Metals FireKing
Body coverage term Lifetime, transferableDocumented Tiered by model, 1 year to lifetimeDocumented One year, parts and labor, from the date of purchaseDocumented, conditional Limited lifetime, residential. 1 year for commercial useDocumented By product group. Lifetime parts on most file lines, 90 days to 10 years on othersDocumented
Replaces the safe after a fire YesDocumented Qualifying models. UL listed fire safes and gun safes 55 inches and tallerDocumented, conditional Not publishedNot published YesDocumented Most groups, but not the Patriot series and not the FireShield fileDocumented, conditional
Replaces the safe after a break-in YesDocumented Qualifying models. Super Brute floor safes and gun safes 55 inches and tallerDocumented, conditional Not publishedNot published YesDocumented Not addressed in the published termsNot published
Covers flood or accidental damage NoNot covered NoNot covered Not publishedNot published NoNot covered No. Water resistance is a product feature, not a warranty termNot covered
Lock coverage 5 years. Extendable to 15 years for $99 or lifetime for $159Documented 1 year on factory installed locks. 5 years on BFX, BFII and RF with a factory AMSEC lockDocumented Included in the one year termDocumented, conditional 5 years. Extendable to 10 years for $60 or 15 years for $99, within 30 days of purchaseDocumented Not broken out separatelyNot published
Who pays freight on a claim Liberty ships the replacement out, installs it and removes the old safe on safes built after January 1, 2006Documented Requires prior authorization. Parts and labor in the US and Canada, parts only outside itDocumented, conditional Not publishedNot published Rhino pays freight back to the factory. You package, palletize and stage the safe for curbside pickup at your costDocumented, conditional Replacement product is free and ships freight collect, so you pay to receive itDocumented, conditional
Who runs the claim LibertyDocumented AMSEC, and no work may start without its authorizationDocumented Call us. We are your first point of contact and we start the claim from thereDocumented, conditional RhinoDocumented Your retail seller, or FireKing directly. FireKing may inspect before validatingDocumented
Transfers to a new owner YesDocumented NoNot covered Not publishedNot published NoNot covered NoNot covered
Covers the contents NoNot covered NoNot covered NoNot covered NoNot covered NoNot covered
Publishes a warranty document YesDocumented YesDocumented NoNot published YesDocumented YesDocumented
Conditions that void it Misuse, neglect, improper installation, normal wearDocumented, conditional Commercial use of a residential model, unauthorized repair, altered serial number, factory-unauthorized combination changeDocumented, conditional Not published. The universal exclusions still apply as category practiceNot published Modification or tampering, unauthorized parts, a non climate-controlled location, an enclosed pool areaDocumented, conditional Relocation or service by a non-factory technician, unapproved cleaners or lubricants, liquid spillsDocumented, conditional

Terms change. We check these pages, and you should read the manufacturer's page before you rely on anything here.

Brand by brand

The five brands we carry, one at a time

Liberty Safe

The most generous logistics of any brand we carry, and the only one whose lifetime coverage follows the safe to its next owner.

Body and door

Lifetime, tied to the original owner, and transferable. If a fire or an attempted break-in damages the safe, Liberty repairs or replaces it.

What that includes

Liberty's terms cover shipping the replacement out, installing it, paying a professional to open a safe forced into lockout, and removing the old safe. On safes built after January 1, 2006 the delivery and in-home service are part of the lifetime warranty.

Lock

5 years, separate from the body. You can extend it within 12 months of purchase if the safe is no more than 24 months past its build date: $99 adds 10 years, $159 makes it lifetime. The extension also pays a certified locksmith to regain access if the lock fails.

Exclusions and what to do

Not covered.

The contents; Flood damage; Misuse, neglect or improper installation; Normal wear and tear.

Do this.

Register the safe and keep the confirmation with your receipt. You need the serial number, which is printed on the safe and in the owner's manual.

Two terms often repeated by dealers, a 30-day registration deadline and a one-year electrical parts term, are not stated on Liberty's current warranty page. We do not publish them as fact. Register promptly anyway.

American Security (AMSEC)

There is no single AMSEC warranty. The term depends entirely on which model you bought, and every claim needs AMSEC's authorization before any work begins.

Standard coverage

1 year parts and labor on most safes and factory-installed electronic locks. Retrofit lock kits are 1 year parts only. Field service work carries 90 days on labor.

Extended residential tiers

BFX, BFII and RF gun safes with a factory AMSEC lock carry 5 years parts and labor. UL listed fire safes get lifetime replacement for fire damage. Super Brute floor safes get lifetime replacement for forced entry. Gun safes 55 inches and taller get lifetime replacement for fire or forced entry.

Conditions

Original purchaser only, and it does not transfer. Residential models must stay in a residence. Repair by anyone other than a pre-authorized AMSEC dealer voids the warranty.

Exclusions and what to do

Not covered.

The contents; Damage from shipment, accident, negligence, misuse or improper installation; Normal wear, battery replacement and routine maintenance; Any repair performed without prior authorization.

Do this.

Call before anyone touches the safe. Unauthorized service is the fastest way to lose AMSEC coverage, and it is the mistake we see most often.

Coverage runs in the United States and Canada. Outside that area the warranty covers parts only, not labor. The published terms apply to products shipped after April 1, 2019.

ISM

ISM builds some of the most heavily rated steel in the world and publishes no consumer warranty document at all. That is a different problem from a narrow warranty, and it changes who you call rather than what you own.

The coverage

Your safe and its components, including the lock, are covered for one year, parts and labor, from the date of purchase. That is the full extent of what is recorded. No term beyond the first year is documented.

Why there is no link below

ISM's safes are manufactured in Israel and imported. Its official US site publishes product and company information and no warranty terms, so there is no manufacturer warranty page to send you to. Every other brand on this page has one.

Who to call

If you have a warranty issue, call us and we will start the claim process for you. We are your first point of contact on a warranty claim, and we work with the manufacturer from there.

What we will not tell you

We do not have published terms on fire replacement, break-in replacement, transferability, freight, or coverage past the first year. Where a term is not documented, we say so and confirm it with the manufacturer rather than guess.

Exclusions and what to do

Not covered.

The contents; Misuse, modification and unauthorized service, as on every brand here; Anything a published document would otherwise spell out, because no such document exists.

Do this.

Keep your receipt. Proof of purchase is required to open a claim, and on this brand it is doing more work than usual, because there is no published document standing behind it.

Read the short warranty against the rating rather than through it. ISM's steel rating and ISM's warranty term are two separate things. The absence of a published exclusion list is not the absence of exclusions, and no safe warranty in this category has ever covered the contents.

Rhino Metals

Lifetime coverage for residential owners with the most clearly documented claim process of any brand here, and placement conditions that can quietly void it.

Body

Limited lifetime to the original purchaser in a residential setting, covering defects plus damage from fire and from an unlawful break-in or attempt. Commercial or industrial use drops to one year against defects only.

Lock and electrical

Locks and electronic keypads carry 5 years. Lights and electrical parts carry 1 year. Paint, powder coat and interior carry 1 year, conditioned on proper care.

Extending the lock

Rhino sells an extension that must be bought within 30 days of the safe purchase: $60 adds 5 years for 10 total, $99 adds 10 years for 15 total. It covers only the original factory-installed lock.

The claim

Rhino asks for four things: proof of purchase, a written statement, photographs of the damaged safe, and a police or fire department report. Rhino then decides whether to repair in the home, repair at the factory, or replace.

Exclusions and what to do

Not covered.

The contents; Flood damage; Removal and installation costs; Forgotten or lost codes, lost keys, dead batteries, improper opening procedures.

Do this.

Watch the 30-day window if you want the extended lock coverage. It is the only deadline on this page that we can point to in writing, and it closes fast.

Placement is a coverage condition. The safe must sit in a climate-controlled area and must not be in an enclosed pool area. In a Georgia garage or an unconditioned basement, that condition is easy to break without meaning to.

FireKing

Organized by product group rather than by component. Find your product group first, because a sentence about “the FireKing warranty” without a product group is not a usable sentence.

The coverage types

FireKing assigns each product group a combination: a 2-year service warranty covering labor, lifetime parts coverage for defect or malfunction, lifetime free after-fire replacement, and fixed terms of 90 days, 1 year, 7 years or 10 years.

File cabinets

The lateral files, 1-hour and 2-hour verticals, Safe in a File, FireKing 25, Turtle, card and note files and storage cabinets all carry 2-year service, lifetime parts for defect, and lifetime fire replacement.

Safes and cabinets

Fire-rated safes carry lifetime fire replacement plus a 1-year warranty. Flammable safety cabinets carry lifetime fire replacement plus 10 years. SureSeals carry 7 years. Personal safes and depository safes carry 1 year.

The freight term

A fire-damaged product is replaced free of charge and ships freight collect. The product is free. The freight is not.

Exclusions and what to do

Not covered.

The contents; Freight on a replacement; Coverage after a change of ownership; Incidental or consequential damages; Failures traced to unapproved lubricants or cleaners, liquid spills, or relocation and service by a non-factory technician.

Do this.

Match your model number to a product group before you assume anything. Two groups a buyer would reasonably call file cabinets carry no fire replacement at all.

The Patriot series and the FireShield file (2S1822-DDSSF) carry no after-fire replacement on FireKing's own product warranty sheet, even though FireKing's warranty page states the after-fire replacement as a blanket promise on file cabinets. Where the page and the sheet disagree, the per-product sheet governs. Do not assume after-fire replacement on those two.

Vault doors

Vault doors run on their own terms

A vault door is not covered by the safe warranty, even from the same manufacturer. Rhino publishes a separate vault door warranty, and it covers defects and damage from an unlawful break-in or attempt. Fire is not named in it, unlike Rhino's safe warranty.

If you own a vault door, read the vault door document rather than the safe document. If you are not sure which one applies to your door, call us with the model and we will tell you which page governs.

Translation

What the marketing words actually mean

There is no such thing as fireproof, and there is no such thing as a warranty that covers everything. Each phrase below collapses a narrower printed term.

“Lifetime warranty”
The body and door, for the original owner. The lock, electronics and finish carry separate, shorter terms.
“Fully covered”
Never the contents. Rarely the freight. Coverage is repair or replacement of the safe, subject to conditions.
“Guaranteed for life”
A promise to the first buyer that usually ends at resale, unless the warranty says it transfers.
“Free replacement”
Free of product cost. Whether freight, installation and removal are also free is a separate term, and it varies by brand.
“Free after-fire replacement”
Free product. The replacement ships freight collect, so you pay to receive it.
“We’ll take care of it”
Not a coverage term. No duration, no exclusions, no document. Ask what the period is, what it covers, and who to call.

Claim file

Build your claim file on the day the safe arrives

A claim moves faster when the paperwork already exists. Assembled calmly at purchase, it is worth far more than the same paperwork reconstructed after a fire.

  • Photograph the serial number plate and the safe in place, before anything is stored in it.

  • Save the receipt as a file, not only as paper. Every brand here requires proof of purchase.

  • Register the safe where the manufacturer offers registration, and save the confirmation.

  • Note the model number and the product group, which is what FireKing and AMSEC coverage turns on.

  • Store all of it somewhere other than inside the safe. A claim after a fire is the one moment you cannot open it.

Process

How a warranty claim actually runs

Brands differ in the details. The shape is consistent.

  1. 1

    Call before anyone touches the safe.

    On American Security and Rhino, work started before the manufacturer is notified can void the coverage. This step comes before calling a locksmith, not after. If you own an ISM safe, call us and we open the claim.

  2. 2

    Document the loss.

    For a fire or a break-in, get the police or fire department report. Rhino also requires photographs and a written statement. The report is the document claims turn on, and it is often time-sensitive.

  3. 3

    Pull your proof of purchase.

    Serial number, purchase date, registration confirmation. Every brand here asks for it before service is performed.

  4. 4

    Confirm which term applies to your model.

    On AMSEC and FireKing this is not optional. The coverage is assigned by model tier or product group, so the answer changes with the model number.

  5. 5

    Settle the logistics in writing.

    Ask who pays freight each way and whether installation and removal are included. On a safe that weighs 700 pounds, that is real money, and it is the term least likely to be advertised.

  6. 6

    Keep one thread.

    Work one claim through one point of contact. If we sold you the safe, use us. We know which manufacturer wants what, and in what order.

Questions

Warranty questions we get asked

Does a safe warranty cover the guns, jewelry or cash inside?

No. No safe warranty covers the contents, from any manufacturer on this page. The contents are the job of your homeowner's or renter's insurance, which can add scheduled coverage for firearms, jewelry or documents. The warranty covers the safe. Insurance covers what the safe was protecting.

Does every safe brand publish a warranty document?

No. Four of the five brands we carry publish warranty terms you can read: Liberty, American Security, Rhino and FireKing. ISM does not. Its safes are imported and it posts no consumer warranty terms, so there is no page to link and no factory service department to call. What that changes is the claim path rather than the coverage. Your ISM safe and its components, including the lock, are covered for one year, parts and labor, from the date of purchase, and if you have an issue you call us and we start the claim with the manufacturer.

Which of these brands covers flood damage?

None of them. Liberty, American Security, Rhino and FireKing cover fire, defects or both, and none of them covers flood. ISM publishes no terms on the question. A fire rating measures resistance to heat, not to water, so a high fire rating tells you nothing about flood protection. If your safe sits in a basement or a flood-exposed location, that is an insurance conversation rather than a warranty one.

Is a safe warranty transferable to a new owner?

Only Liberty's, among the brands we carry. Liberty describes its lifetime warranty as transferable, so it follows the safe to the next owner. American Security, Rhino and FireKing all limit coverage to the original purchaser. ISM publishes no warranty document, so it states nothing on the question. This materially changes what a used safe is worth.

Who pays to ship a safe on a warranty claim?

It varies more than any other term. Liberty ships the replacement out, installs it and removes the old safe on safes built after January 1, 2006. Rhino pays freight back to the factory while you package, palletize and stage the safe for curbside pickup at your cost. FireKing replaces a fire-damaged product free and ships it freight collect, so you pay to receive it. American Security requires prior authorization and covers parts and labor in the US and Canada. ISM publishes no freight term, so call us before anything moves.

Why do the body and the lock have different warranty lengths?

The body is static steel with very few ways to fail, so manufacturers warrant it for the longest term. The lock is a mechanical or electronic part with moving components and batteries, so it carries a shorter, separate term, commonly five years. Liberty and Rhino both sell extensions on the lock term. Rhino's extension has to be purchased within 30 days of buying the safe.

Does FireKing's free after-fire replacement include shipping?

No. The replacement product is free and it ships freight collect, which means you pay the freight to receive it. The after-fire replacement also does not apply across the whole FireKing line. The Patriot series and the FireShield file carry no fire replacement on FireKing's own product warranty sheet, so check your product group before you count on it.

What usually voids a safe warranty?

Five conditions come up again and again. Modification or tampering that changes how the safe operates. Repair by an unauthorized party on brands that require authorization. Using a residential safe in a commercial setting where that is restricted. An improper environment, such as a damp or non climate-controlled location. An altered serial number, or a combination changed without factory authorization. FireKing adds relocation or service by a non-factory technician.

My safe will not open. Can I just call a locksmith?

Call the manufacturer or call us first. On American Security and Rhino, service performed before the manufacturer is notified can void the coverage, and a locksmith who drills a door has ended the conversation. One phone call before the work protects the warranty and often costs you nothing. If the safe is under a lock warranty, the repair may be covered.

Do I have to register my safe?

Proof of purchase is required by every brand here. Registration is required by some, and Liberty requires it before you can buy the extended lock coverage. Register promptly and keep the confirmation somewhere other than inside the safe. A registration deadline for Liberty has circulated for years, but it is not stated on Liberty's current warranty page, so we do not repeat it as fact.

Is the warranty different on a vault door?

Yes, and this catches people out. Rhino publishes a separate warranty for vault doors that covers defects and break-in damage, and does not name fire, unlike its safe warranty. A vault door is also only as good as the wall it is set into, which is a construction question rather than a warranty one. Call us with your door model and we will point you to the document that governs it.

Not sure what you have?

Bring us the model number and we will tell you which document governs your safe and what it actually covers. We are not trying to sell you a warranty. We are trying to make sure you know what you own.

We are in the business of helping people protect what they can't replace, and that job does not end at delivery.

Call 770-242-0055
  • Norcross5074 Buford Hwy, Norcross, GA 30071
  • Kennesaw1200 Ernest W Barrett Pkwy NW Ste 212, Kennesaw, GA 30144
  • Fayetteville630 GA-314 Ste 1011, Fayetteville, GA 30214

The terms on this page are summarized from each manufacturer's published warranty documents and were checked against those documents on September 2, 2026. Manufacturers change their terms. The manufacturer's own page governs, and every one is linked above.